Why I Teach Online

Having the option to work remotely and asynchronously was a godsend. I figured my online students would have no idea if I were moderating online discussions or grading papers while sitting next to a spouse hooked up to an Oxaliplatin IV. During this family crisis, I knew I would miss being in the same room with students, and the instantaneous give-and-take of a physical classroom. I only ever envisioned online teaching as a short-term reassignment.

Source: www.chronicle.com

My online career allows me to be a primary caregiver for my loved one. This aspect of the work wasn’t what I’d anticipated. In the end it was a God send. 

Leave a Reply

